Cabaret (1966 musical version) : Work information

John Kander ( Music, Images,)
Performed by
John Mark Ainsley (Tenor), Gregg Edelman (Voice), Judi Dench (Voice), Fred Ebb (Voice), Maria Friedman (Voice), Jonathan Pryce (Voice), National Symphony Orchestra, John Owen Edwards (Conductor)

This work

Work name
Cabaret (1966 musical version)
Work number
1966-01-01 02:00:00

This recording

JAY Records
Recording date

Track listing

  • Willkommen 5:14 min
  • So What? 3:18 min
  • Don't Tell Mama 4:34 min
  • Telephone Song 4:30 min
  • Perfectly Marvelous 5:10 min
  • Two Ladies 2:36 min
  • It Couldn't Please Me More 3:33 min
  • Tomorrow Belongs to Me 2:09 min
  • Why Should I Wake Up? 3:22 min
  • Sitting Pretty 5:47 min
  • Married 2:43 min
  • Fruit Shop Dance 4:13 min
  • Meeskite 4:47 min
  • Tomorrow Belongs to Me 1:55 min
  • Entr'acte 6:29 min
  • Kick Line 3:05 min
  • Married 0:51 min
  • If You Could See Her 2:46 min
  • What Would You Do? 3:33 min
  • Sally's Revolt 1:06 min
  • Cabaret 4:18 min
  • Break Up 2:35 min
  • Finale Ultimo 4:21 min
  • Curtain Calls 0:58 min
  • Exit Music 2:47 min
  • Money (1987 Revival) 6:32 min
  • Don't Go (1987 Revival) 3:42 min
  • I Don't Care Much (1987 revival) 2:23 min
  • Mein Herr (from the motion picture) 3:36 min
  • Maybe This Time (from the motion picture) 3:37 min
  • Money Money (from the motion picture) 3:06 min
  • Tiller Girls (from the motion picture) 1:48 min


Cabaret is recognised as Kander and Ebb's masterwork and is considered one of the 10 greatest musicals ever written. Nominated for the 1998 Gramophone Award, this recording features an all star cast including Dame Judi Dench, Jonathan Pryce, Maria Friedman and the lyricist Fred Ebb. The National Symphony Orchestra is conducted by John Owen Edwards.
This is the only recording containing all the songs from the Original Broadway Score, The Film Score and The Revival Score. Hit songs include Willkommen, Cabaret, Maybe This Time, Money Money, Tomorrow Belongs To Me and Two Ladies. The wonderful original Broadway orchestrations by Don Walker and the sensational film orchestrations by Ralph Burns were used for this recording.

The Composers

John Kander