is being upgraded. Visit our new video service.

Don Giovanni : Work information

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart ( Music, Images,)
Performed by
Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana, Alain Lombard (Conductor)

This work

Work name
Don Giovanni
Work number
K. 527
1787-01-01 02:00:00

This recording

Forlane CI
Ivan Pastor
Ulrich Ruscher
Recording date
1998-01-01 00:00:00

The Composers

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

The works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart are generally held to mark the peak of Viennese Classicism. As a composer who excelled in every genre, he can be rightly regarded as one of the greatest composers in the history of Western music.

Born on 27 January 1756 in Salzburg, Austria, Wolfgang received his musical education from his father, Leopold and quickly showed aptitude, playing his sister's piano pieces at the age of four and composing from the age of five. Leopold, fully aware of the remarkable talents of Wolfgang and his sister, Nannerl, took the family around Europe, showcasing his children before Kings and Queens.

Having toured as a child prodigy for ten years and come into contact with all manner of musical styles and practices, including a meeting with J C Bach in London, Mozart began his adult musical career in Salzburg in 1773 in the employ of the Archbishop.

Although the greater part of his job was to compose church music, the young Mozart quickly became the chief composer of instrumental and vocal music in Salzburg and gradually became more dissatisfied with his position. Matters came to a head in 1781 when Mozart realised he could make a living as a freelance musician in Vienna. By the end of 1781, having obtained a release from his employment, he was established as the greatest keyboard player in the Austrian capital.

Mozart's finest works date from the ten years he spent in Vienna, the last years of his tragically short life. His reputation as a composer was immediately established with the opera Die Entführung aus dem Serail, and shortly after he married Constanze Weber. Their marriage appears to have a happy one, though both were financially naive.

The busiest years were between 1784 and 1788, in a period of financial security. Mozart gave numerous subscription concerts, for which he composed a dozen excellent piano concerti, in addition to private concerts for the local nobility. In 1784 Mozart also became a freemason at a lodge in Vienna and often composed music for meetings, most notably the Mauerische Trauermusik.

Opera, however, was still Mozart's priority and he scored great successes in Vienna and Prague with Le nozze di Figaro and Don Giovanni. These were followed in the final two years of his life by three more operatic masterpieces: Così fan Tutte, La Clemenza di Tito and Die Zauberflöte.

After the death of Leopold in May 1787 and a temporary lull in creative activity, Mozart began to give fewer concerts. His finances suffered as a result and from mid-1788 he was often in debt, forced to rely on loans from friends. However, the Mozarts never had to do without servants or any other luxuries of their class.

Mozart's work was still attracting international interest and was widely published. He was working on a Requiem commission when he died on 5 December 1791 from rheumatic inflammatory fever, but there is no evidence that this was in any way a burden on him as is sometimes suggested. Nor is there any evidence that he was poisoned, by Salieri or anybody else. He was buried in a common grave, as was the usual custom at the time, on a calm, mild day (not the snowy, stormy day of legend).

Mozart's reputation continued to spread after his death with Breitkopf & Härtel releasing a 'collected edition' of Mozart's works as early as 1798. In 1862, Köchel released his thematic catalogue of Mozart's works (works in Mozart's catalogue are thus prefixed by the letter K) prompting Breitkopf to publish a 'complete edition' between 1877 and 1883. His popularity has, if anything, grown to new heights in recent times with the majority of his works occupying prominent places in the repertory.

Related Composers: Schubert, Beethoven, Haydn, J C Bach

Track listing

  • Overture 6:24 min
  • Notte e giorno faticar 6:11 min
  • Leporello ove sei? 0:36 min
  • Ah! Del padre in periglio 0:12 min
  • Ma qual mai s'offre oh Del 7:02 min
  • Orsú spicciati presto 1:51 min
  • Ah! Chi mi dice mai 3:37 min
  • Chi é lá? - Stelle! Che vedo 3:10 min
  • Madamina! Il catalogo 5:46 min
  • In questa forma dunque 0:36 min
  • Giovinette che fate all'amour 1:32 min
  • Manco male è partita 2:24 min
  • Ho capito signor 1:50 min
  • Alfin siam liberati 2:03 min
  • Là ci darem la mano 3:52 min
  • Fermati scellerato 0:50 min
  • Ah fuggi il traditor 1:14 min
  • Mi par ch'oggi il demonio si diverta 1:18 min
  • Non ti fidar o misera 4:51 min
  • Povera sventurata 0:26 min
  • Don Ottavio son mortal! 6:42 min
  • Come mai creder dreggio 0:42 min
  • Dalla sua pace 4:32 min
  • Io deggio ad ogni patto 1:50 min
  • Finch'han dal vino 1:45 min
  • Masetto senti un po' 1:25 min
  • Batti batti o bel Masetto 4:08 min
  • Guarda un po 0:47 min
  • Presto presto pria ch'ei venga 19:51 min
  • Eh via buffone 1:06 min
  • Leporello. Signore. 2:06 min
  • Ah taci ingiusto core 5:00 min
  • Amico che ti par? 2:22 min
  • Deh vieni alla finestra 1:50 min
  • V'è gente alla finestra 1:19 min
  • Metà di voi quà vadano 2:46 min
  • Zitto Lascia ch'io senta 2:24 min
  • Ah! Ah! La testa mia - Vedrai carino 3:42 min
  • Di molte faci il lume 0:37 min
  • Sola sola in bujo loco 7:37 min
  • Dunque quello sei tu 0:24 min
  • Ah pietà Signori miei 2:10 min
  • Ferma perfido ferma 0:54 min
  • Il mio tesoro intanto 5:15 min
  • In quali eccessi o Numi 6:45 min
  • Ah ah ah ah questa è buona 4:20 min
  • O statua gentillissima 3:37 min
  • Calmatevi idol mio 0:55 min
  • Crudele! Ah no mio bene 7:45 min
  • Ah si segua il suo passo 0:20 min
  • Già la mensa è preparata 23:12 min