is being upgraded. Visit our new video service.

La Bohème : Work information

Ruggero Leoncavallo ( Music, Images,)
Performed by
Orchestra del Teatro La Fenice di Venezia, Jan Latham-Koenig (Conductor)

This work

Work name
La Bohème
Work number
1897-01-01 02:00:00

This recording

Nuova Era
Danielo Prefumo
Michael Seberich
Recording date
1990-01-01 01:00:00

The Composers

Ruggero Leoncavallo

Ruggero Leoncavallo was born in Naples and was admitted to the conservatory there in 1866.  He studied composition under Rossi and graduated ten years later, continuing his studies in Bologna.  An interest in both Wagner and the Renaissance led to plans for a trilogy of operas based on Renaissance themes - the planned title of the trilogy, Crepuscule, intimates Wagner's own 'Twilight of the Gods', and the completed operas were frequently perceived as pastiche.  The first of these, Chatterton, was finally finished in 1876 and Leoncavallo put up his own money for a performance.  However, he entrusted his funds to a mercenary impressario who defrauded him and disappeared.  Embittered by this experience, Leoncavallo travelled to Europe and Egypt, scraping a living as a café pianist. 

In 1882 Leoncavallo was introduced to Italian publisher Giulio Ricordi, who expressed an interest in Chatterton and in the libretto for his next planned opera, I Medici.  It was the libretto that especially caught the publisher's eye, and in 1889 he engaged the composer to write a libretto for  Puccini after the play Manon Lescaut.  As we know, Puccini received his libretto and completed the opera, but not with Leoncavallo's texts.  This rejection, coupled with Ricordi's refusal to publish I Medici, angered Leoncavallo severely and desparate for fame he began work on an opera inspired by the verisimo style of Mascagni's recent success, Cavalleria RusticanaPagliacci (1892) was pointedly offered to Ricordi's rival, Sonzogno, who immediately saw its potential and arranged a premiere conducted by Toscanini.  It was Leoncavallo's first and greatest success, and it enabled him to complete and put on I Medici the following year.  This opened to general derision, except from the Kaiser who was sufficiently impressed to commission the obsequiously themed Der Roland von Berlin (1904).

Although newspaper reports of the two projects came out almost simultaneously, Leoncavallo claimed to have planned an opera on La Bohème before Puccini.  The element of competition did not favour Leoncavallo - Puccini brought his opera out in 1896, a year before Leoncavallo, and although Leoncavallo's had a modicum of success it was largely eclipsed by the other version, which has since entered the standard operatic repertoire.  Alongside further operatic efforts, he was one of the first composers to seriously record for gramophone.  He and Caruso recorded his song Mattinata in 1904, and in 1907 he recorded Pagliacci, the first complete opera to be recorded in Italy.  In later years he travelled widely, even as far afield as America, to promote his works and to compose operettas.  His final work, Edipo Re, was not performed in Italy until 1958, 39 years after his death.

Track listing

  • Act I - Scene: 'No, signor mio...' 10:46 min
  • Act I - Arietta: 'Bella dama...' 2:55 min
  • Act I - Aria: 'Musette svaria sulla bocca viva...' 1:47 min
  • Act I - Scene: 'Se insieme lo cercassimo...' 3:24 min
  • Act I - Scene: 'Platonico è l'amante...' 2:04 min
  • Act I - Aria: 'Mimì Pinson la biondetta...' 2:31 min
  • Act I - Aria: 'O Musette...' 2:24 min
  • Act I - Finale: 'Senti Marcello...' 15:52 min
  • Act II - Scene: 'Auf! ce n'è ancora?' 3:44 min
  • Act II - Aria: 'Io non ho che una povera stanzetta...' 6:41 min
  • Act II - Recit: 'L'immenso tesoro...' 4:31 min
  • Act II - Quartet: 'Ed ora vengano...' 0:52 min
  • Act II - Scene: 'Qualcun...' 3:20 min
  • Act II - Chorus: 'Dei vent'anni fra l'ebbrezza...' 2:08 min
  • Act II - Scene: 'Domando la parola...' 3:50 min
  • Act II - Aria: 'Da quel suon soavemente...' 4:47 min
  • Act II - Aria: 'Alza l'occhio celeste...' 2:07 min
  • Act II - Finale: 'Ma quando smettete?' 3:20 min
  • Act III - Scene: 'E che! Tu pur sei vedovo?' 7:26 min
  • Act III - Arioso: 'E' destin! Debbo andarmene...Coraggio!' 4:49 min
  • Act III - Scene: 'Tu qui! Perchè? Che vuoi?' 5:50 min
  • Act III - Recit: 'Sei proprio tu che hai scritto ciò?' 4:53 min
  • Act III - Aria: 'Va via, fantasma del passato!' 7:57 min
  • Act III - Finale: 'Testa adorata...' 2:12 min
  • Act IV - Scene: 'Scuoti, o vento, fra i sibili...' 10:08 min
  • Act IV - Recit: 'Mimì...' 9:03 min
  • Act IV - Finale: 'No, morir non voglio...' 3:49 min